History of Museo Sugbo in Cebu Museo Sugbo is located in the former Cebu Provincial Detention and Rehabilitation Center (CPDRC). It was once called “Carcel de Cebu”, the provincial jail of Cebu. It is now the Cebu Provincial Museum.
The Museo was designed by Domingo de Escondrillas in in 1869 (he used to be the only architect in Cebu that time). It was originally proposed to be the main prison for the Visayan District because of its somewhat considerable size when it was constructed.The construction started in 1871. It was believed that the coral blocks from the demolished Parian Church were used to build parts of the gaol.